Married and Navigating Jewish Life

Blogging about marriage and relationships

Dislike of Jewish Stores in Flatbush

with 5 comments

We like to frequent Jewish Stores because why not give the Jews business? However in all seriousness we sometimes truly hate shopping there. Why?

1) Inconsiderate people not knowing they are shoving right into you, or don’t care if they are blocking the aisle, or decide that double strollers can fit into a store whose aisles are really too short.

2) Many of the stores do not accept returns even if its just under 7 days.

3) Price switching when there are no prices on the items (We have seen this happen several times and we do not shop at there anymore because of it)

It’s sad that we find non-Jewish stores more welcoming. Sometimes its because of the owner, sometimes of the patrons, but we really cannot stand it. At least during the summer there is a little bit of a reprieve.

Written by frombrooklyn

July 3, 2008 at 4:26 AM

Posted in Uncategorized

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. i don’t live in Brooklyn, but i definitely don’t like flatbush lol so great post

    Anonymous

    July 4, 2008 at 1:09 AM

  2. It’s sad that many Jews prefer to do business with non-jews because of the way some bad apples have dealt with them….

  3. Some? Always problems in Mountain Fruit. Wrong price, price not in computer, spoiled everything. I only go there for the sales. Wrote about it on my blog.
    And then you have Jewish employers…
    And let’s not forget cholov yisroel milk which spoils 5 days before “sell by” date.
    And stores in boro park sell green meat and at normal price too.

    Moshe

    July 18, 2008 at 12:01 AM

  4. Like it or not, Jews have a bad reputation in business, both outside the ‘community’ and within it. Worse, many of us seem hell-bent on maintaining just about every negative stereotype, in this area, that others hold of us. THAT is the sad thing – not whether or not I spend my money with non-Jews. I’ll spend my money with whomsoever offers me the product and service that I need, and will trade honestly and openly with me. Are Jews especially mean-hearted when it comes to business? Well, I’m wary of us – but there are other cultures with a similar, prevailing self-seeking attitude to trade. I’m not going to point a finger, here. I am equally suspicious, in the first instance, of people of any culture when entering into a business transaction, of any kind. There is room for deceit on both sides of a bargain, of course. It’s important to check one’s own behaviour and intentions, and approach the world with honesty and goodwill. Customers / tenants can be as much a part of the problem as any smirking, deceitful retailer or landlord.

    Yidwiv

    July 27, 2008 at 7:41 AM

  5. I’m reminded of the times, 20-25 years ago, I (a frum jew) would go into stores on 13th Ave. only to find these old Hungarian ladies rushing over to me condescendingly asking me if I need help. Then,until I exited, I could feel their icy stares drilling into me as if I was going to steal something.

    Joseph

    August 5, 2008 at 5:55 AM


Leave a Reply

