Married and Navigating Jewish Life

Blogging about marriage and relationships

Lag B’Omar

leave a comment »

Every year I wonder to myself what exactly does Lag B’Omar mean, at least to me personally. Should I contemplate the fact that the righteous Rabbi Akiva’s students stopped dying on this day? That Bar Yochai died this day? That the miracle of Jews being able to control (and I use the word control very very liberally) a part of Eretz Yisroel? Should I go light a bon fire and do all the other things other Jews do, such as going to the parades and concerts?

It is a weird feeling knowing that today I can cut my hair, listen to music, go see Spiderman 3, and I don’t know why…why this is such an important day.

No, I do know what is important for this day. However I do not know what it means inside my heart.

I have come to the realization that Lag B’Omar is a unique day, it means a lot of different things. It is everything I said above, it just depends on what I choose to do on this day that affects how I feel about it.

Why do I say this?

Today is the day that the Talmidim of Rabbi Akiva, the light of that generation, a direct decendent of converts, stopped dying. The day that the Light of the Torah did not disappear once more during that dark age of Jewish History.

So, we have the light and it will not go away. We need to take this light and do what we will with it. Do your celebrations, do the things that are important to your heart, but remember that you walk with the light of the Torah that today proved it could not be extinguished.

Oh and remember why those students died. They died because they could not get along with one another. That they did not care about each other. Remember that when you bring the Light of the Torah into your every day actions and pray to Hashem that you do not cause another plague to come down upon Klal Yisroel because you were arrogant enough to recreate the actions of those students who caused that plague during that time to happen.

Written by frombrooklyn

May 6, 2007 at 9:38 PM

Posted in From us

Leave a Reply

