Married and Navigating Jewish Life

Blogging about marriage and relationships

I find this amusing

with 2 comments

Probably many of you would rather hit me over the head for this but then again this is our blog not yours 🙂

So, as I travel around Brooklyn I find that using Public Transportation is much easier than trying to navigate around. Now when I do have an opportunity to be able to see other Jews on the Bus (which the B11 and B9 are one of the biggest lines for Jews due to Flatbush/BP connectivity) I find myself noticing the following…numbers just for the heck of it in no particular order.

1) Avoidance of Non-Jews, especially not sitting next to them (even when same gender)

2) Chassidic Jews ignoring/not sitting next to Non-Chassidic Jews and vice versa

3) Jewish Men usually not checking out the Jewish Woman (any age)

4) Single (above 12) and Married Jewish Woman checking out Men generally

5) Jewish Woman checking out one another (not sexually, I pray)

6) Jewish Boys (from School) causing mayhem, pushing, shoving, and giggling at Jewish girls (HSish)

7) Jewish Girls (HSish) never moving, always blocking, and constantly talking

8 ) Jewish people almost NEVER moving aside to allow people to get by

9) Jewish people shoving to get ahead in line or out the door when they see that you are trying to get off

10) Goyim shoving people to get ahead in line

11) Goyim talking about the Jews they see and a) making fun of them b) putting them down or c) cursing them out

12) Bus drivers dreading opening the door as they go through the ‘Jewish Areas’

And while you might not believe it, I usually see this daily.

Written by frombrooklyn

February 14, 2007 at 5:09 AM

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. You just summed up the reasons I dislike NY so much- almost everyone lacks derech eretz and decency . Not only frum Jews but everyone who is always in a rush to somewhere. It happens to be that frum Jews are stereotypically associated with rudeness and the stereotype is there for a reason- because most of the time they are.

    Why is this? One would think Jews should make the best example of themselves for a kiddush Hashem.

    frumbutwithit

    February 14, 2007 at 6:26 AM

  2. I completely agree with you. I try and never sterotype at all, but unfortunately, I see these on a daily basis. Makes me wonder how my children will turn out sometimes if these are the examples of the outside world that they will see. All I can do is try to show them what to really do.

    frombrooklyn

    February 14, 2007 at 6:47 AM


Leave a Reply

